#Special Saturday – What am i thankful for?

Published November 19, 2011 by swanfreddie

I’ve spent 17 months totally blinded with grief, resentment, anger, frustration and depression. I barely think about the good things in life as i’m so consumed with all the stresses that come with having a child like Freddie. But thanks to him I feel I have changed as a person.

I am thankful for being shown what is really important in life. It’s not about how much money I have or what clothes I wear. It doesn’t matter to me anymore what other people think of me and my family. I no longer care about doing my make up before I leave the house or what my hair looks like. These things are so unimportant to me now.
I am so thankful for Freddie showing me that life shouldn’t be taken for granted. When I watch my little boy I feel so proud for everything he has achieved. For other people it may seem like only small acheivements but for me watching Freddie wiggle on his back across a room is amazing. He may be 17 months and not crawling or walking but it’s time to ignore these milestones and allow Freddie to be his own person. He is unique and I am thankful to be able to go into Freddies little world and spend some time there with him. Not many people will ever enter Freddies world but it’s a fab and happy place to be as far as hes concerned.  Not many people can be happy staring into space blowing raspberries…but to Freddies is great and i’m thankful he is happy.

I am also thankful to his big sister for loving him for who he is. She adores her baby brother. They may not have a proper brother and sister relationship but Evie still thinks Freddie is great. She loves spending time with him in his sensory room and she always brings him toys when hes sad. Every morning when she wakes up Freddie is the first person she asks to see. She helps to tube feed him his milk and his medicines and if hes sick shes the first to go over and start clearing it up. I am so thankful she is patient and doesn’t resent Freddie for all the time i have to spend away from her to be with him.

I am also VERY thankful for him lying in till 9am this morning 😀

4 comments on “#Special Saturday – What am i thankful for?

  • Leave a Reply

